Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

Torque Arm help needed.

Old 11-02-2008, 09:52 AM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Torque Arm help needed.

I'm currently in the market for a nice adjustable torque arm. I drove a 2000 SS with one installed and felt a nice difference. I'm confused about how to order one and was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction. I'm pretty sure I want a transmission mounted piece. I have MAC mid-length headers on the car but someday I would like to pull those off and upgrade to some LT's. Would I have to buy a different torque arm if I were to install long tubes?

I'm looking at UMI's, BMR's, and Spohn's. They are all priced around the same. If any sponser(s) would like to chime in on why their's is the best I'm open ears. I'm pretty new to this stuff so bare with me!
Old 11-02-2008, 12:08 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I have a UMI adjustable torque arm with long tubes and an ory. The clearance is great on it. In reality umi and bmr's transmission mounted piece will clear virtually all aftermarket exhaust systems so you cant go wrong with either.
Old 11-02-2008, 01:54 PM
11 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Personally I like the Spohn products. Everyone I know around here uses them. I have their trans mounted adjustible unit. It will fit with Macs or long tubes. Get the longer bolts for it as well. Click for a pic.
Old 11-03-2008, 08:53 AM
LS1Tech Premium Sponsor

Received 18 Likes on 14 Posts

Hello, just to give you another option. We offer several different styles of adjustable torque arm. From our full length adjustable dom steel made 1.25" x .120 tubing or the 1.25" x .85 moly version. We also offer shorter versions that work very well for drag racing applications. If you have any questions please give me a call.
(813) 986-9302

Like us on Facebook!

Last edited by BMR Tech2; 12-09-2008 at 09:25 AM.
Old 11-03-2008, 09:28 AM
FormerVendor