Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

quiet pleeeease.

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2009, 01:13 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default quiet pleeeease.

Hey guys!

im fairly new to suspension mods so please bare with me.

ive searched and for now i decided to go with:
-strano springs
-koni 4/4
-panhard bar
-LCA relocation brackets and
-LCA

however....
during my search i also read that some of these components will/or will tend to squeak, rattle, make lots of noise, etc.. because of the "ends" (rod ends, poly, moly, etc.) i know my car will never feel like a benz, but i want better ride quality, performance, handling, and also QUIETNESS.
What "ends" would be the quietest for daily driving? And would getting the "quieter ones" be as durable (and serve the proper purpose) as the "other ends?"

thanks!
Old 01-05-2009, 04:48 AM
TECH Apprentice

I've got essentially the same setup as you, with the exception of 4/3 shocks, and no LCA relocation brackets (deemed unnecessary by Sam). I'd say the loudest part of my car is the headers and Magnaflow .

The rear LCA's I have are poly on one end, rod end on the other. The poly end gives you some isolation from the road noises and "clunking" per se of the rod end. I have the double rod-ended PHB, but you could also substitute with a poly/rod PHB I suppose.

The car rides like a dream though. And seeing as you have the GMMG on your car?????? Again, I don't think you'll hear the suspension over that!
Old 01-05-2009, 06:05 AM
TECH Junkie

All of that with no LCA or relo brackets. Use stock LCA's. Lots of people just switch stock LCA bushings out with solid rubber moog bushings. Allows the most rear axle free movement and rubber is the best for dampening sound. No need for relo brackets if you just want handling and aren't interested in launching the car for drag or don't get wheel hop.
Old 01-05-2009, 07:26 AM
FormerVendor

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts

Hello,