Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

How much for lowering my car 1 inch

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2009, 11:46 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How much for lowering my car 1 inch

Hey, can someone tell me how much it would cost to lower my 2001 Camaro ss 1 inch? I have no experience in suspension area.
Old 04-10-2009, 11:57 PM
TECH Addict

between $0 and $1000+

do you care about ride quality/handling? will you be installing it? do you care about having new parts vs. used? what will the car be used for primarily?

and does your car already have the level 2 bilstein/eibach suspension option? if so, an inch lower than that is lower than an inch lower from base stock ride height
Old 04-11-2009, 12:11 AM
TECH Addict

basically, all you NEED to lower the car is shorter springs. yes you CAN cut them, although i do not really advise that. that's another thread though.

no matter what you do, if you change the ride height of the front you need an alignment, so there's $100(unless you'd rather just unevenly wear out your tires haha)

then you need springs. lowering springs go for about $150ish used or $220ish new. you can also do the "heater hose mod" in the rear which will lower the back about 3/4" with stock springs.

then, if you care about handling/ride quality/any performance whatsoever you'll need new shocks that are valved properly for the springs you choose. your 3 major options are tokico, bilstein, and koni. tokico's are the cheapest, but also probably the lowest quality in build. bilsteins are the mid-range(this is what i chose), then the koni's. koni's are generally considered the best, and also the most expensive by quite a bit. for shocks figure about $4-800. you can lower on stock shocks, but they suck to begin with, and wearing them out only makes it worse.