Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

need all new suspension

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2010, 01:04 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default need all new suspension

I'm a complete noob when it comes to suspension. I am going to replace the suspension on my dad's camaro 95 z28. I could care less about sporty handling or lowering, I just want it to be an enjoyable ride. Right now it rides like there is no suspension. Literally bottom out on everything, and everytime I hit a bump it sounds like something is going to bust up into the rear through the wheel well. can you guys tell me what exactly to buy. Looking to do both front and rear.
Old 03-30-2010, 05:22 AM
Launching!

Depends on your cash flow. If you're like me (don't have too much to play with), i'd suggest the Bilstein's all around for shocks and if you replace your springs, go with stock springs. Some of the guys on here can tell you more about the difference in pricing, but I can tell you first hand, when I had that problem, the Bilstein shocks and Eibach springs made my car feel like a different animal.
Old 03-30-2010, 07:08 AM
pjb
TECH Resident

as mentioned, start with good shocks. you may not need anything else.
Old 03-30-2010, 10:10 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I've been running Bilstein HD's on stock springs for about 5 years now, the car absorbs bumps great. Also see if the bump stops are even still there, they tend to just fall apart over the years, there are three fbodies sitting in the driveway outside, only one of them has bump stops, and that is due to me replacing the ones that were ready to fall off. The other two cars there is just some rubber stubble.
Old 03-30-2010, 02:35 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts

Originally Posted by FeedMeMustangs