Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

Wheel hop after mods

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2010, 08:31 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Wheel hop after mods

Looking for some help with what direction to go to fix this wheel hop on hard launches . It just started happening after the following winter mods , long tube headers ,poly motor mounts, poly torque arm bushing,and 3200 yank stall.The shocks are all 2 years old (koni 4/3) and are all good, stock springs and a adjustable panhard bar,stock lca and torque arm . Any ideals would be greatly appreciated.
Old 05-17-2010, 08:34 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

I'm no pro but I would suspect the stock LCAs are not helping anything. They are stamped steel so they are a little flexible, plus how many miles are on their bushings? I got wheel hop on a stock v6 simply from worn bushings.
Old 05-17-2010, 08:36 PM
Staging Lane

Cheap fix, box in your control arms if you dont want to buy new ones
Old 05-17-2010, 08:38 PM
11 Second Club

You already have an adj. panhard bar so I'd say getting some adj. lca's and relocation brackets for them could help you solve this. Setting the lca's on the bottom hole of the reloc brackets would allow a better upward angle on the lca's.
Old 05-17-2010, 08:42 PM
TECH Junkie

I'd do LCA relocation brackets first, before aftermarket LCAs
Old 05-17-2010, 08:46 PM
TECH Apprentice

Stock torque arm can be the culprit. Found out this weekend on a 2200 rpm launch, mine now touches the tunnel of the car.
Old 05-17-2010, 08:58 PM
TECH Junkie

^^ could probably use a poly torque arm mount
Old 05-18-2010, 07:45 AM
FormerVendor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Hello