Brand new rotors rubbing OR Something else? - LS1TECH

Go Back   LS1TECH > CHASSIS, SUSPENSION, APPEARANCE > Suspension & Brakes
Search

Suspension & Brakes
Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

Brand new rotors rubbing OR Something else?

Old 04-12-2012, 09:21 AM   #1
TECH Enthusiast

Trader Rating: 6
Default Brand new rotors rubbing OR Something else?

So heres the situation:

I last installed Ws6store slotted/drilled rotors and new pads on my 01 Z28 in September 2008 before I went away to college (EIU). From that moment on I graduated this last May and put about 15k (highway) miles on the car.

The car was garaged from (Thanksgiving to March) in Chicago under a car cover for three winter seasons and did not move for (three-four weeks) at some points. (This is where people said the rust developed from the garage being damp) I noticed this constant rubbing sound around (Fall 2010) that would increase/decrease from the speed I was going.

I took apart my brake assembly and noticed there was a ring of rust around the hub part of the rotor. Not where the brake pad made contact to the rotor so much but the 1/4 inch surface before the pad makes surface (Not noticeable unless you are bending down staring at it). This was mainly on the rear brakes, it was about 70% less rusted on the front.

When I would have the car off the ground and would spin the back tires you could hear the rubbing.

So I just installed brand new Ws6store.com rotors and Hawk HPS pads last night and there is still a rubbing. I would say it has decreased by about 50% but you can definitely still notice it when the music is off.

My question is, What could be causing this sound because it cannot be the rotors, OR can it? The car has 73k on it. Could it be the wheel hub or something off balanced/loose?

Does anyone have any past experience with a similar situation?

Your input is appreciated.

2001 M6 LS1 Z/28 Full Bolt Ons - Full Suspension - Tuned - 3.73s on MT ET II dr