Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

General Suspension Questions

Old 08-28-2013, 07:51 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default General Suspension Questions

I have some general suspension questions about my 2000 T/A. Here's a little back story... I bought a set of OEM C6 Z06 wheels and in my search to see if they will fit or not, many people who have fit them with little to no issues with them rubbing have had adjustable lower control arms. I also read somewhere that when adjustable lower control arms are installed, most people put a panhard bar in there as well.

This is what leads to my question, What exactly does all that do? And how does that correlate into my wide *** wheels?

Any and all help will be awesome! I'm still searching on this topic so if this was a stupid questions then I'll file it under the "I'm a newb" category"....

Thanks!

-Michael
Old 08-28-2013, 08:10 PM
TECH Addict

Stock control arms are stamped steel, tubular are narrowerr so you gain clearance. The panhard bar centers the rear so they will be less likely to rub inside.
Old 08-28-2013, 08:25 PM
Staging Lane

Originally Posted by therealcreeper
Stock control arms are stamped steel, tubular are narrowerr so you gain clearance. The panhard bar centers the rear so they will be less likely to rub inside.
Righteous!!

I've read that these two things will help wheel hop which is awesome, so I'm kind of killing two birds with one stone.

Does anyone have measurements or a ball park figure of how much wheel/tire clearance you gain from switching out control arms?
Old 08-28-2013, 11:17 PM
On The Tree

Its always better to get the rear lower control arm and panhard bar both would be easier if adjustable for traction, less likely tires will rub inside
Old 08-29-2013, 10:12 AM
LS1Tech Premium Sponsor

Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts