Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

best way to do away with front wheel spacers

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2013, 03:56 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default best way to do away with front wheel spacers

I have a 98 Trans Am and I'm rather new to the f-body scene. I see that everyone running skinnys is using wheel spacers to clear the stock front brakes. What is the most cost effective set up to change the brakes so I won't have to use spacers? I just hate the look of the front wheels sitting way out in the front!
Old 10-20-2013, 09:14 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

properly offset rims .
Old 10-21-2013, 12:24 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

Usually the people running skinny front runners aren't really doing it for the looks but for function at the track.
Old 10-21-2013, 12:26 PM
Teching In

Maybe I need to be a little more clear. To run a 15" skinny on the front I need to grind the caliper and run a spacer with my Billit Specialties skinnys. I just want to do away with the spacers for now. Can I adapt brakes from a 6 cylinder car? Do I have to by a brake kit from Strange or Wilwood? Has anybody figured out a combo of junkyard parts that works? I want to buy a front k member and the narrowed a arms eventually, which would utilize the aftermarket brakes. But for now is there anything low buck that I can do?
Old 10-21-2013, 02:53 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

What about running a 17 inch wheel/tire combo with the right offset? No grinding or spacers or any other added complexity.
Old 10-21-2013, 04:25 PM
Teching In