Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

Opinions on Motor/Trans Mounts!!

Old 11-06-2013, 07:10 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Opinions on Motor/Trans Mounts!!

I wanted options on what brand is best and what you guys recommend I have a friend that's gets 50% off on parts from autozone I don't know if there any good I'm new at this kinda thing iv never had to replace them in any car I had. Btw the car is a 98 trans am
Old 11-11-2013, 12:40 PM
LS1Tech Premium Sponsor

Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts

Originally Posted by Cj_ls1
I wanted options on what brand is best and what you guys recommend I have a friend that's gets 50% off on parts from autozone I don't know if there any good I'm new at this kinda thing iv never had to replace them in any car I had. Btw the car is a 98 trans am
If you are looking for performance and willing to sacrifice a little extra vibration I would look at doing poly-urethane motor mounts and transmission mount. Both Prothane and Energy Suspension off these mounts at close to the same price. The nice thing about these mounts is that they will really limit how much movement you have in the driveline and they will last much longer than the factory rubber ones do.

Find a Quality alignment shop near you!
Old 11-11-2013, 12:57 PM
TECH Junkie

It all depends on how picky you are and what you consider "vibrations".. I guess. I have the poly mounts on both the motor and the tranny and I never noticed anything nearly that upsetting afterward. Lots of people though complain about the vibrations... but I think a lot of people also are hoping to turn their fbody into a cadiilac.

My old rubber mounts must have rotted out at some point because my shifter would go nuts wobbling around under accelleration. Poly mounts fixed that for me.
Old 11-11-2013, 01:48 PM
Super Hulk Smash

Received 137 Likes on 114 Posts