Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

What is this and how do I fix it?

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2014, 09:04 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Default What is this and how do I fix it?

Replaced the front passenger hub today and it solved the ABS problem I've been dealing with since the last track day.

While I was under there, I noticed that the rubber piece surrounding the piece near the bottom of the picture was torn up pretty bad. I'm a noob at getting my hands dirty on this stuff and simply don't know what this is (or how to fix it). Was searching for info on it and couldn't find any good info.

Old 01-19-2014, 09:07 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts

That's your outer tie rod end. Not expensive. Can be a pain tho. Might need a torch. Car would need an alignment after replacing it.
Old 01-19-2014, 09:10 PM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by autogeek23
That's your outer tie rod end. Not expensive. Can be a pain tho. Might need a torch. Car would need an alignment after replacing it.
Thanks for the news....ouch! Just got comfortable enough to replace a hub, but I'm still a long ways away from doing anything that involves a torch. :-)

At least now that I know what it's called I can start searching to learn about fixing it.

Thanks again.
Old 01-19-2014, 10:01 PM
scj
TECH Addict

Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts