Thinking about relocating to TX any info would help

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2009, 12:51 PM
11 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Thinking about relocating to TX any info would help

Alright guys my wife and I are thinking leaving Ohio and Tx is one state we are thinking about.
She cant find a good full time Job here (she is a MRI Tech) and has found some in the Houston area on the internet.

How is the cost of living down there? What are some pros and cons that you have if you live in that area?

Her Job would carry us till I found something there. I'm an ASE certified auto Tech, and currently work for Summit (racing) in Ohio. Is the job market dried up dow there for someone like me that just has an assoc degree in nothing from a decent school?

Any cons about the weather?

What are some good areas to look at for a place to live?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Nothing is for sure yet we are just looking at our options.
Thanks
Josh
Old 02-17-2009, 01:13 PM
12 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Having grown-up in Buffalo and endured the snow, cold, and terrible economy up north, I'm glad I moved to Texas. I made the move in August 2000 and have never regretted it. While the summers can get hot, every place is air conditioned and it's really not that bad. Now, if you work outside, well, that might be another story. I don't.

Up north, I would not be able to drive the '01 Trans Am year-round. Same thing goes for the motorcycle. I only had about 5 months worth of good riding weather. So, Houston is a bonus for year-round riding and driving fun.