Anyone?
Old 05-01-2009, 07:12 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am. You have a question?
Old 05-01-2009, 12:42 PM
On The Tree

Well... I'm really considering being one. Right now I am in banking. I have my degree and have worked at my bank for 2 years. I am really unsatisfied... DPS has been in the back of my mind for about 6 years. One of my best friends is in Van Horn and my cousin is in Tulia, and they love being troopers. The next academy is in September... When my wife is due to have our baby. I guess I just need some advice more than anything. My wife is scared that I would die, and i told her not to think of it like that... I told her even at the bank there is a chance that some bank robber would come in and shoot me...

If i did take it, it would mean more money/year, more fulfilling, etc.

Do you enjoy it? How long have you been a trooper? Any advice?
Old 05-01-2009, 01:42 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 6 Likes on 2 Posts

i too have thought about becoming a trooper
Old 05-01-2009, 02:52 PM
Teching In

+1 for these questions I was planning on joining after I graduate next year. Also are the DPS recruiters on the level or are they as full of **** as the military recruiters?
Old 05-01-2009, 06:13 PM
Teching In

Well, I really do like my job. I have been a State Trooper for 4 years. I wanted to be a Trooper since I was 8. A Trooper taught bicycle safety in my 2nd grade class and I was hooked. It definitely helps that you already know people in the Department that can really give you information. My greatest suggestion for anyone that wants to be a Trooper, GO ride with one. That is the easiest way to find out if this job is for you or not. If I could change anything prior to starting this career it would be, learn everything about the job before submitting an application.