Offshore ?'s

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2011, 04:52 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Offshore ?'s

I have noticed alot of people in the Texas section work in the oil and gas industry. I was wondering if anyone works for TO, and or been to there TOPS school, I am going there next week and wondering what to expect. Thanks for any info.
Old 11-19-2011, 06:46 PM
Staging Lane

I work in the oilfield up in East Texas but not real familiar with offshore stuff. So really dont know why I even posted here. Im bored at work......LOL! Beauty of the oilfield.
Old 11-19-2011, 09:38 PM
Launching!

Originally Posted by SilverHawk#183
I have noticed alot of people in the Texas section work in the oil and gas industry. I was wondering if anyone works for TO, and or been to there TOPS school, I am going there next week and wondering what to expect. Thanks for any info.
I went to TOPS about 12 years ago so I couldn't really tell you what to expect. When I was there we stayed at the training center for 2 weeks and couldn't leave, just like being on the rig. TO is a great company to work for.
Old 11-20-2011, 04:36 PM
Launching!

Ive always worked as a contractor (3rd party), but ive worked many TO Ships/Semis, and they treat thier employees very well, especially with experience. If your brand new, expect some flack, but stay with it, the oil industry is good, solid money (Im 9 years in and im constantly in awe that i get paid what i do)
Old 11-20-2011, 06:37 PM
On The Tree

How do you go about getting into this?
Old 11-21-2011, 11:49 AM
Launching!

I would also like a little bit more info, Shell Oil is sending me an offer package in a few weeks to intern on one of their rigs as an Instrument Tech (I&E) in Louisiana. I graduate in May, apparently they have a deal with the college where you can do school work on the rig on your off time.

So whats it like on the off time? Hows the food? There a gym? Computers? What do you do other than sleep/work?