Texas jobs/living

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2013, 09:39 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 19 Likes on 13 Posts

Default Texas jobs/living

Hey guys, thinking about starting over, to keep this post short.

I got money saved, a house I can rent when I leave this dump, just wondering what the job market is like in Texas. Not really sure where, just thinking right now. Looking for a place that has plenty to do, and women around that aren't whales would be nice. I was thinking maybe Dallas since I been there before, seemed ok.

Currently I manage a warehouse, hazmat certified, a few years of shipping/receiving experience. I'm a veteran too if that helps land a job down there. I'm sure there's plenty of shipping and receiving jobs down there. Can I make about what I make now? And what's cost of living?

Currently I have a real decent 1500 sq ft house for around $800 a month and I make 18/hr. With OT and everything I do pretty damn well, would like to keep it that way.

Well, just got the gears turning in my head, so please inform me.
Old 03-13-2013, 09:41 PM
TECH Resident

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

According to the googs Austin is on the up in terms of jobs and such. Big tech is booming down there.
Old 03-13-2013, 09:52 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Job market is great down here. Oil and gas is booming south of San Antonio as well as in West Texas (that said just about no one wants to live out there), Dallas has work everywhere, Austin is picking up, and Houston never slows down. The cost of living is reasonable but Dallas and Austin are a bit higher than the other major cities. I'm not sure what you're skills are, and what you are willing to accept as far as work hours go, but the oilfield flat out PAYS. That said, you will work hard for the money.
Old 03-13-2013, 09:59 PM
TECH Fanatic