Tools & Fabrication Hand | Power | Hydraulic | Pneumatic | Welding | Painting

Buying a MIG (complete newbie)

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2009, 11:17 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Buying a MIG (complete newbie)

Need help buying a Mig and all the accessories that go with it. I have ZERO welding experience but am a fast learner. I plan to spend a few weeks learning how to weld on scraps and then move on to some practice projects such as a work bench and a cart for the welder.

Ultimately, I would like to be able to use this welder to mini-tub my trans-am, but I won't torch on the car until I am confident with my ability.

I am leaning toward the Hobart Handler 140 Welder. I like this welder because it is relatively cheap, has decent power, and will run off 110v. From what I have read, this is a decent mig to start out on.

http://www.tractorsupply.com/webapp/...stingPage=true

What else do I need besides the physical welder?

(1) What shielding Gas do I need and where should I get it? Is it recommonded to buy your own tank or rent?

(2) Safety stuff.... apron, helmet with a dark face plate, and gloves right? Where should I buy this stuff on the cheap? HF?

(3) Consumables.... Flux wire, tips... Is there a kit yall recommend to get started with... preferably on the cheap?

(4) Anything else???

Finally, Do yall think this is a practical way to learn to weld? I would eventually like to get into rollbar fabrication (not for a living, just hobby), ext... but I would like some experience before I go out and buy $2000+ tig welders, plasma cutters, as well as tube benders/notchers, chop saws and all the other crap you need.
Old 06-05-2009, 11:28 AM
TECH Resident

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Hobarts are good welders for the money.

1) I use 75/25 argon mix for just about everything

2) Just get a good pair of gloves, and an auto-darkening helmet.