Tools & Fabrication Hand | Power | Hydraulic | Pneumatic | Welding | Painting

CAD users

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2011, 02:05 AM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default CAD users

To all CAD users I have a few questions.
Which program do you prefer, AutoCAd or Solidworks
Are you self taught or did you take classes
How long did it take you to get proficient
What do you think or do you recommend any online courses

Ive been wanting to learn this for awhile so now is the time. Any info you have would be appreciated. I wish I had a copy to play around with.(hint)
Old 10-06-2011, 10:59 AM

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Dassault was sending out free DraftSight offers which is
a CAD similar to AutoCAD, will import / export to it and
seems full featured (beyond my ability to tell, I have not
used AutoCAD myself). It may not have the same look/
feel, don't know. But I've used it to do some drawings
and it seems solid. Check it out, free is good.
Old 10-08-2011, 12:15 AM
Staging Lane

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Autocad here,took many years to be efficient what are you using it for?
Old 10-08-2011, 04:07 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts

Solidworks vs Autocad? Solidworks hands down.
The world in 2D is a pretty flat place

Ive used:
Autocad
Microstation
Solidworks
Pro/E
Inventor

AutoCAD is probably the most common CAD Program and I would reccomend learning it. Out of the 3D Modeling programs, Solidworks & Inventor are the most user friendly. Pro/E was more difficult to learn. Using the same modeling tools in Solidworks or Inventor is alot easier than using them in Pro/E.

Pro/E is best for Extreme Complex designs. CAD jobs that require Pro/E experience seem to have better pay on average also.

I learned all the CAD programs in the classroom. However they just teach you the basic's. On the job is where you really start learning. I learn something new everyday at work using Solidworks.

Last edited by 30th t/a; 10-08-2011 at 04:18 PM.