Tools & Fabrication Hand | Power | Hydraulic | Pneumatic | Welding | Painting

Starting to Buy Tools

Old 01-16-2014, 09:44 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Starting to Buy Tools

Hey guys, I'm currently a full time college student and I do detailing on the side so my budget is kind of tight. I'm about to start buying tools and after looking through some things, doing some research and reading on The Garage Journals I believe I will be going with GearWrench Hand Tools, and some Makita Power Tools. I have a Gladiator 12 Drawer 41" Chest to house my goodies in, and it currently has a few items (Craftsman stuff, broke some a few times). I do minimal work on vehicles and this is a hobby.

Cliff Notes:

• Full time college student
• Thinking about GearWrench hand tools
• Thinking about Makita power tools
• Already have a Gladiator 41" Chest
Old 01-16-2014, 11:13 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Bump. Any incite is appreciated.
Old 01-16-2014, 11:23 AM
Teching In

You get what you pay for when it comes to any tools. But it is also just alot of trial and error to see what you like the best. I started out with craftsman everything and they did the job and are reliable, but now that i work in a G.M. dealership i have majority snap-on and some mac tools and trust me you can tell a difference. Just start using different things and decide what you like, to each their own as they say. Just my $.02

P.S. try and stay away from the majority of harbor freight stuff if you are using them all of the time or you like going into their store all of the time to replace stuff
Old 01-16-2014, 01:29 PM
TECH Enthusiast

This is just a hobby so I doubt any Snap-On will find its way into my toolbox. At this point its just out of my price range.

Has anyone heard of Armstrong? Its made in the USA and seems to be somewhat affordable.

Also, I'm looking into Proto Tools as well. They seem like really good quality items.
Old 01-16-2014, 04:58 PM
TECH Addict