Tools & Fabrication Hand | Power | Hydraulic | Pneumatic | Welding | Painting

Opinions on welders

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2014, 07:50 PM
11 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Opinions on welders

I want to know what welder you have, what you are using it for and how you like it. I'm looking to purchase a welder and just looking to see what most guys here are buying. I'm open to mig and tig welder opinions
Old 11-23-2014, 01:27 AM
8 Second Truck Club

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

I have a Miller Dynasty 200 set up and love it. It's not for poor people though.
Old 11-23-2014, 03:22 AM
TECH Addict

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm just a hobby welder/tinkerer but I've got a pretty good variety of welders and each has their pros and cons really. In my garage I have a Lincoln weld pak 100 converted to gas. It's about one of the smallest migs you can get but I actually love welding smaller stuff and sheet metal with it. It's got a smaller torch that you can just about get in anywhere with and it welds so smooth for a 110 machine. Then I also have an Everlast 210EXT TIG in my garage that has been flawless. Granted, it's not worked heavy but it hasn't let me down and I've had it over a year now welding titanium, aluminum, stainless, among other things.

In my shop I've got a Millermatic 250 mig and a Syncrowave 351 TIG but these really dont get much use since my dad passed away. I just don't have the time or projects to really use them but they both weld great. They just aren't portable like the two units in my garage are.
Old 11-23-2014, 04:31 AM
Teching In

Hobart handler 140. I'm still learning on it but it is great starting point. Not a bad price either. Its a 110v but I don't plan on doing any heavy duty work.
Old 11-23-2014, 07:48 AM
11 Second Club

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts