Tools & Fabrication Hand | Power | Hydraulic | Pneumatic | Welding | Painting

Coleman Air Tools?

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2004, 06:55 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Inexpensive Air Tools?

Has anyone tried the Coleman Air Tools? I know they are cheap but for someone who only does light duty work and takes good care of their tools would they be ok?

Last edited by BryanS; 03-16-2004 at 11:28 AM. Reason: Changing the Title
Old 03-16-2004, 09:01 AM
TECH Enthusiast

In my opinion any tool made by a company known mainly for making camping products can't be any good.
I was taught long ago that you buy a tool once, it should be good enough to last for life. This may not work for all tools, especially air tools. But as a weekend mechanic, my 17 year old Chicago Pneumatic impact gun has lasted this long. Yeah, it has a little less power compared to what they make today, but it has always performed when it needed to.
Some of the tools that my dad gave me, (old Craftsman and Snap-on) are older than I am. Same principal, bought once and they've lasted this long.
Look through the Sears catalog, Ingersoll Rand, Chicago Pneumatic and even the Craftsman air tools are reasonably priced and should outlast those Coleman tools. There is a reason good tools are priced higher. They're made to last. What are you gonna do at 3AM in the middle of a cam or header change and that Coleman craps out?
Tony
my $.02
Old 03-16-2004, 09:24 AM
Teching In

Thanks for the reply and I can definately see your point.

Are Central Pneumatic tools any good? They are sold by Harbor Freight and I have heard quite a few people mention getting tools from them.
Old 03-16-2004, 09:35 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Central Pneumatic tools are good. I personally like Craftsman, becuase of the lifetime warranrty they uphold. It depends how much you use the tool and if you keep them oiled and the seals wet with oil. Kinda like a car!
Old 03-16-2004, 09:24 PM
TECH Enthusiast