Tools & Fabrication Hand | Power | Hydraulic | Pneumatic | Welding | Painting

do you have a lift and what kind

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2004, 08:41 PM
8 SEC SLOPPY SHOT!!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default do you have a lift and what kind

I'm finishing my new garage and i'm looking at lifts. I'm thinking a 2 post bend pak. What do you guys have for a lift ?
Old 09-06-2004, 09:37 PM
Launching!

Had a Backyard buddy for 3 years now, no problems. When I move out I'll leave this one for my dad and get a 2 post instead. So I can do all types of work. Hard to do suspension work on a 4-post

JEFF
Attached Thumbnails do you have a lift and what kind-cobra-011_internet.jpg  
Old 09-07-2004, 12:32 AM
9 Second Club

Default Lift

I have a benwil two post. I am no expert as this is my first lift but what I chose was a two post clear floor. As you can see in the pics (I'm just finishing up construction of the hoist room) a clear floor utilizes an upper bar for the chain to cross over to the other post. One benefit is that you have clear unobstructed floor space when not in use, just slide the arms to the side. One potential problem is that it is a lot taller (mine is 12 feet) so i built my room 16' tall. Also maybe some vehicles could be tall enough to hit the top but you can see a small pipe just below the cross bar. If you put a slight amount of upward pressure on this bar it stops the lift. I have lifted full size p/u's and suburbans without any height problems. The other type of two posts utilize a similar cross bar on the floor for the chain to travel to the other post which is always there (no clear floor) and is not as tall. I installed it myself and I can share other install issues but I don't want to bore you as you may already know all this. As far as brands there are a lot of choices, dunno which is best. I am very happy with mine but i bought it used from a dealership.

Name:  000_0867.jpg
Views: 29
Size:  52.0 KB

Old 09-07-2004, 05:54 AM
TECH Fanatic