Tools & Fabrication Hand | Power | Hydraulic | Pneumatic | Welding | Painting

Good home air compressor?

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2005, 08:50 PM
9 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Good home air compressor?

Hey guys,

I am looking into picking up a home air compressor for the garage. What's a good one to get? What options are most important? What are most of you guys using, and if you don't mind me asking, what did you pay for it?

Thanks!
Tim
Old 04-28-2005, 08:12 AM
9 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by tim99ws6
Hey guys,

I am looking into picking up a home air compressor for the garage. What's a good one to get? What options are most important? What are most of you guys using, and if you don't mind me asking, what did you pay for it?

Thanks!
Tim
I'm no expert but I went for an upright. It has a 5 hp motor & a two cylinder compressor. I have been told to stay away from oiless types. I got mine used with a bad motor for free. I bought a new motor from northern tool. I think one from home depot wouldn't be bad. I use mine moderately when I am using air tools but then it sits for days without firing up.
Old 04-28-2005, 09:21 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

im a weekend warrior. mine will sit for 3 months at a time, then get used all week/weekend relentlessly. thats why i opted for the loud *** oil-free air compressor. i got one from sears, smokin deal when i got it (under 300) with a 2 year warranty. i dont have any experience with the home depot stuff, im sure its ok, not sure about its longevity. any of the large name brands that come with some kind of waranty id say youre set. i got a 33 gal, tank. next time im thinking about something larger and quieter which of course will cost me 800+ but this DEFINATLY gets the job done, i just hate it being obnoxiously loud so often.
Old 04-29-2005, 08:40 AM
TECH Veteran

get the large home depo one with the oil compressor that is not noisy - about 400.