Tools & Fabrication Hand | Power | Hydraulic | Pneumatic | Welding | Painting

Learning how to weld

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2005, 10:44 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Learning how to weld

I have been interested in cars for a few years now and have jsut begun to start working on them myself and would love to learn how to weld. My question is where or how did you learn to weld? where should I go to try and learn to weld?
I am a college student so I dont have all of the time and money in the world.
Thanks
James
Old 07-28-2005, 07:40 AM
TECH Apprentice

I bought a Mig welder from Home Depot when i was 15 and taught myself.
Old 07-28-2005, 08:50 AM
TECH Resident

Check with your university, college, and local community colleges. Many of them have courses in welding for fairly low money and little time. I myself took one at Virginia Tech while I was there. Was a 1 credit class, met 1 day a week, and the lab fee was under $100. Taught all of the processes, gas, stick, MIG, and TIG (which I opted not to learn at the time and have kicked myself for ever since).

You can do the buy one and learn for yourself method, but it is nice to have professional guidance in what you're doing, and what to look for in a good weld.

Also, you might find that the welder you bought and the welder you want are decidedly different. You may find that you want to save a bit more money for a 200 amp 220V MIG instead of going for a cheap 85 amp MIG or and even cheaper 225Amp Stick. Education in this area is a good thing.

Just my $0.02, take it for what its worth.

'Dreamin'
Old 07-28-2005, 09:47 AM

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Lots of community colleges will have these classes.
I "learned" myself by just playing around but the
quality of my work, shows it. Lot of weld quality
has to do with metallurgy, pre/post-heat, rod or
wire (and gas if applicable) selection which you
will not figure out for yourself, making sparks in the