Tools & Fabrication Hand | Power | Hydraulic | Pneumatic | Welding | Painting

spot/tack welding aluminum

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2006, 11:08 PM
TECH Addict

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default spot/tack welding aluminum

I want to try and build my own aluminum crossmember, probably out of 1/8". 3/16" or 1/4" boxed aluminum tubing. I don't trust myself to weld something that critical, however cutting and fitting the pieces will take a lot of time. I want to tack weld the crossmember together and have a professional run the beads along the seams.

I have a stick welder that I have used before but that's it.... what can I use to tack these aluminum pieces together?

Thanks, -Dave
Old 01-04-2006, 11:10 PM
TECH Addict

Oh yea... my dad has a Miller (I think) MIG welder that I have never used before but I would really like to avoid using that if possible.
Old 01-06-2006, 01:13 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

No you cant stick weld aluminum. You need a Mig setup to run Aluminum. Or you can set you stick welder up to run as a Tig and tack it that way.
Old 01-06-2006, 06:27 AM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by smoknta
No you cant stick weld aluminum. You need a Mig setup to run Aluminum. Or you can set you stick welder up to run as a Tig and tack it that way.
You would need a mig w/ an aluminum spool gun, or a Tig welder to weld alum.
Old 01-06-2006, 09:23 AM
TECH Addict

Set my stick welder up as a TIG? How would I go about that?

I guess I will start asking around for an aluminum gun for my MIG, too...

Any other info?
Old 01-06-2006, 09:50 AM
Teching In

Or you can buy stick aluminum electrodes

http://store.cyberweld.com/alel40.html
Never bought anything there just using it as an example. I get all my stuff local.

Use DCEP polarity and practice on a piece. And be sure to clean your aluminum workpiece thoroughly. <- can't stress that enough. And be ready to run a fast bead.
Old 01-07-2006, 10:39 PM
TECH Enthusiast