Wheels & Tires Forged | Billet | Cast | Radials | Slicks

How much balance weight is too much?

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2005, 07:03 PM
Banned

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default How much balance weight is too much?

I just bought some tires online and had to have tire kingdom swap them out, mainly because they are the only place open this late.

Theres 3 3/4 ounces of weight on one. It's like 6" long! they are stick on weights on the inside of the rim.

Also the tires are BFG G-Force KDWS. They had a hell of a time getting the new ones on and seating the beads.
I've heard the ting of beads being seating using ether and this was quiet close.
I guess this would be a reason they didn't break the bead loose again and try to rotate the tire to a better spot that required less weight?

Does this sound like something you'd be comfortable with?
Old 07-19-2005, 07:39 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Well since this is how i make my living, i feel a little obligated to answer. There are different ways of balancing a wheel, it sounds like where you took it used tape weights only, on the inside of the wheel. 3 and 3/4 is ALOT for a car tire/wheel in one spot. The way i always balance my tires personally is with the tape weights on the inside, AND the hammer on weights on the inside. It just depends how they setup the machine on whether they can do this. This gives you a better balance and looks just as good as tape weights only. Not all wheels can get the hammer one's though so you might be stuck. And yah, spinning tight fitting low pro tires so that they are lined up on the rim in the best place can be difficult, but it's not impossible. I've got the same tires on my fronts by the way. If you have any questions feel free to pm me.
Old 07-19-2005, 09:00 PM
9 Second Club

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts