Advanced Engineering Tech For the more hardcore LS1TECH residents

Electric Go-Kart and a Fuel Efficient Vehicle

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2010, 01:32 AM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Electric Go-Kart and a Fuel Efficient Vehicle

I'm a 3rd year engineering student and I was just asked last week by the engineering department chairman to join one of the engineering department's projects which is their fuel efficient vehicle program. Currently our first part of the project is converting there gas powered go-kart into an electric motor powered go-kart (which I have no experience in the electric motor powered department) after doing some chassis and suspension modifications which I suggested such as adding a real suspension to the chassis instead of just having all four wheels directly bolted to the chassis with no suspension travel whatsoever. Our next project after some of my suggestions might be building from scratch a small vehicle powered by a LS series aluminum motor which we'll modify to run more efficiently, as well as a well designed chassis and body with a low frontal drag area and drag coefficient to make it as efficient as possible.

My questions are as follows:
1. What is a good TEFC (Totally Enclosed, Fan Cooled) 5hp Capacitor Start motor that we could use that is reliable and not prone to overheating due to the fact that it will be used for prolonged periods int the hot south Texas heat.
2. What are our battery type choices if we want a battery that could efficiently hold a charge strong enough to power a 5HP Capacitor Start motor for extended periods of time.
Old 09-05-2010, 01:50 AM
Teching In