Automatic Transmission 2-Speed thru 10-Speed GM Autos | Converters | Shift Kits
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

4l60e new trans vibration in 3rd only.

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2012, 11:12 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4l60e new trans vibration in 3rd only.

i purchased a lvl 2 trans from performabuilt and just installed it last night. my previous trans when in 3rd it had a partial vibration. now when im in 3rd with the new one the vibration is alot worst in 3rd above 2500 rpms vibration gets only slightly worst with higher rpms and vibration exists w torque converter lock up and with converter not locked. any advise is appreciated. reading on here someone says to get a rubber mount. i have poly MM's and trans mount is poly also torque arm bar poly. and the vibration is not in any other gear.
Old 01-29-2012, 01:38 PM

Received 389 Likes on 298 Posts

I'm no trans expert, but I have read other posts about people experiencing vibration because their HD trans used the "Beast shell", which despite its excellent strength reputation is actually cheaply built and not balanced. (Balancing can weaken the shell due to the holes drilled for balancing).
Since the shell is held solid in 2nd and 4th gear, it is only spinning in 1st and 3rd gear and you probably notice it more in 3rd.
I have read here many posts recommending the stock rubber trans mounts instead of the poly one to reduce the vibration.
I am rebuilding a 4L60E and a 4l65E right now and talked to several trans builders for shell recommendations. Two recommended the Sonnax Smart Shell to avoid the vibration issues and I bought that for the 4L60E. One didn't think the Sonnax would work in a 4L65E and for that I bought a beast. The Sonnax shell is still somewhat unproven and most HD rebuilders therefore prefer The Beast to be on the safe side.
Just my opinion.
Old 01-29-2012, 03:18 PM
Teching In