Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

4L60E output shaft swap questions

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2015, 03:03 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4L60E output shaft swap questions

So im still new to the LS world. Ive got a 2wd 4l60e from an 06 GTO with about 70k on it and I need to swap the output shaft to work with my transfer case. Since Im basically pulling everything out Ill be on the look out for anything with obvious wear. Is there anything that definitely needs to replaced once I pull it all out.

Its gonna be mounted up to a stock LS2 and used for moderate 4 wheeling. Not looking to do any shift kits but is there anything that should be replaced or upgraded since im pulling it all out anyway. Good luck permitting, I rather not pull this thing again for a very long time.
Old 06-18-2015, 09:19 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

id atleast replace the frictions if they look a little worn..aswell as the 2/4 band and the sunshell..the borgwarner double caged sprag would be a very good upgrade
Old 06-22-2015, 03:25 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

If you're not looking to do a full rebuild and just looking to beef up the trans a bit and eliminate some of the errors prone to the 4L60Es I'd put in the following parts. Since you're going to have your trans out anyway these are some pretty cheap fixes that might prevent a full on rebuild in the future.

Upgrade the Sun Shell - OEM 4L60E sun shells are weak. Use a thicker aftermarket sun shell like one of these. http://www.gmtransmissionparts.com/7...60E-sunshells/ They are thicker and have a better weld. When people say they all of a sudden lost reverse it's this part that went.