Automatic Transmission 2-Speed thru 10-Speed GM Autos | Converters | Shift Kits
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

4l80e Rebuilt w/ Jakes D1 Brake, No reverse, No 3-4 Question

Old 06-23-2016, 07:23 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4l80e Rebuilt w/ Jakes D1 Brake, No reverse, No 3-4 Question

So I am by no means a super experienced every day transmission builder. I have put together more than a couple 4l60e's with good success. So I took on to build a 4l80e for my 6.0 upgrade to my s10. I am having some issues and want to hammer them all out... I am slightly reluctant to contact Jakes shop directly yet until I have exhausted all means and done all my tests, as I see some forum posts where he dislikes being bothered by not professional shops. I am just an active duty army Soldier who gets into this stuff and I have been successful doing it myself (machined and built my own 370). Below I will described scenerio

Late model 4l80e core. Working when removed. Filthy fluid. Normal wear. Looks like construction truck.

Did a total refresh. New seals, bushings, clutches, alto red stuff, whole kit. Was very attention focused in the build, measured clearances, pressed bushings, feel like I did a good job. Replaced the two oil feed bolts and torqued them.

I bought a Jakes D1 brake valve body. During my build made the needed changes as per the instructions. Drilled the hole. Tapped the check ball hole and put the plug in it, and so on. My servo pin wasn't long enough so I welded to and ground the tip to achieve a good clearance and good servo action for the low reverse. I omitted the seals on the accumulator piston as instructed.

Then came to the valve body install. The instructions stated to reinstall "these four check *****", which I did. I am just hoping that this is as designed, because from the start, was 8, one plugged, which left three holes open, but I assumed based on removal of accumulator this was why.