Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

98 A4 4l60e no 4th or tcc lockup

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2017, 01:30 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 98 A4 4l60e no 4th or tcc lockup

Can anyone help me find the cause of my trans not working correctly. Trans shop says it's the tune. I'm not sure how to attach the tune to a post.
Old 01-26-2017, 05:32 PM

Received 388 Likes on 297 Posts

You have HP Tuners?
If yes, first scan for codes and then use the scanner to log "Trans gear", "TCC", "Trans temp", speed, MAF frequency, MAP and TPS %.
Often a code or engine sensor problem will prevent the PCM from commanding 4th gear or TCC lockup.
Old 01-26-2017, 05:44 PM
Teching In

I have EFI live v2 flashscan but I'm new to that also so right this minute I'm trying to figure out how to load pids.
Old 01-26-2017, 05:48 PM

If you have an external cooler, make sure it is not touching the radiator.
We've had a few threads with similar symptoms caused by the trans overheating because the cooler was too close to the radiator.

See this thread and especially the resolution in post #8:

https://ls1tech.com/forums/automatic...t-does-do.html
Old 01-26-2017, 06:39 PM
Teching In

OK now that I have a minute here is my build
lq9 ,243 heads, BTR stage4 cam, ls6 intake, long tubes, 3 inch true dual with an x and dynomax race bullets, 4l60e suppose to be built-up, beast shell, Vette servo, 4l65e planetary setup, 3600 stall,
393rwhp and 390ish TQ
I took the car to the trans shop because I lost 4th and lockup. They checked the converter and it looked good. They went through the trans for the 3rd time and told me to come pick it up because everything was working correctly. Shifting great and locking up like it is supposed to. When I drove the car home I had gotten about 25 miles away when I realized it wasn't shifting out of 3rd. Most of those were city miles so it didn't concern me right away.