Automotive News, Media & Press Television | Magazines | Industry News

Toyota Convert

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2009, 12:12 PM
TECH Resident

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Toyota Convert

With the Car magazines giving good reviews on some GM vehicles lately, relative to their Japanese counterparts, this touched home personally. I usually don't pay much attention to magazine reviews since the Automotive companies place ads in those same publications.

A friend of mine came to me after a recent business trip and knowing that I was a former GM Engineer had to tell me his recent experiences with his Malibu rental car. I was waiting to hear him complain as he usually does, and to tell me how happy he is with his last 3 Camry’s he had bought compared to anything American made.

We all know guys like this; He buys almost exclusively Foreign (Toyota), and makes statements about his one GM purchase in his life "a mid 80's Celebrity" as being the reason he will never buy an American car. It is a repeat of a half dozen people I work with, stating they dislike "American cars" because of a 93 Pontiac they had, or an older guy stating his disappointment in a 69 Firebird that turned him off the American vehicles forever. These are all supposable intelligent Aerospace Engineers that deal with logic all day long but can't seem to get over some preconception based on one experience years ago. I can point out my experiences with my trouble free mile on my personal GM vehicles or other coworkers that have great experiences with theirs, but to no avail. They seem to relish in the glory of their BMW, Camry, Honda or other favorite Foreign make as if it made them special. They also seem to have no problems showing disdain for any American car, even though when asked they admit to having no recent personal experience.