Cadillac CTS-V 2004-2007 (Gen I) The Caddy with an Attitude...

Wheel cleaner ruined my wheel paint WTF

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2011, 07:05 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wheel cleaner ruined my wheel paint WTF

Last week I took off the wheels and cleaned the 57K mile worth of brake dust off of the inside barrels. After doing this the wheels looked amazing. So yesterday, in an attempt to keep them clean, I used this wheel cleaner that I have never used before and it ruined the paint on my wheels. There is the whitish color spot stain on the inside of the spokes that looks like it took the paint right off. The cleaner I used was a cleaner that they use on a day to day basis here at the Cadillac dealership I work at. They say that they have never seen this before. The cleaner is called First Place Heavy Duty Wheel Cleaner and after looking into it a bit I realized that is has acid in it. I did a search online and noticed there was a few people that have had this some problem with there V wheels.

Has anybody on here ran into this same problem/issue.
Old 06-22-2011, 07:40 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts

No, but I have accidentally touched the inside with a very powerful brake caliper cleaner that took some of the powdercoat off. I prefer the general-purpose (2 in 1) Eagle One wheel cleaner that cleans rubber and wheels, but the ArmorAll stuff is a good second (and they're both cheap).
Old 06-22-2011, 07:54 PM
TECH Addict

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

You have to be careful with any of the tire/wheel claeners that have acid and have that aweful burning smell to it. Theres a reason it cuts through brake dust so easy! Never use that stuff a a dusty or barely dirty wheel, thats only for the heavy stuff. Use regular car soap or even an APC if its a little dirter than normal. the acidic stuff should only be used when everything else doesnt work. Start with mild cleaner and go heavier as needed.
Old 06-22-2011, 07:57 PM
On The Tree