Cadillac CTS-V 2004-2007 (Gen I) The Caddy with an Attitude...

No cats!

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2012, 12:32 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default No cats!

Hey guys, just doing some experimenting before the turbo gets ordered...well today I decided to cut the cats off. (I know, with a turbo, exhaust setup wont matter as much), but I wanted to get your guys thoughts on no cats and debunking the backpressure myths. I am an engineering student and according to laws of matter, cutting the cats off wont change backpressure. But the car does feel a little more sluggish. So I have no cats, but I do have a pair of magnaflows. What is the general consensus on no cats and power loss on a naturally aspirated setup (to all the guys that have cut cats off or have a setup now without them on)?
Old 01-28-2012, 12:47 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

You may be an engineering student, but how do you explain removing a restriction (the cats) doesn't reduce backpressure?

It improves the flow, but also increases the "stink".
Old 01-28-2012, 01:03 PM
Teching In

I could write a novel on this. Im talking butt dyno. Wondering what everyones thoughts are that have done it.
Old 01-29-2012, 09:41 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Originally Posted by RoidZ71
Hey guys, just doing some experimenting before the turbo gets ordered...well today I decided to cut the cats off. (I know, with a turbo, exhaust setup wont matter as much), but I wanted to get your guys thoughts on no cats and debunking the backpressure myths. I am an engineering student and according to laws of matter, cutting the cats off wont change backpressure. But the car does feel a little more sluggish. So I have no cats, but I do have a pair of magnaflows. What is the general consensus on no cats and power loss on a naturally aspirated setup (to all the guys that have cut cats off or have a setup now without them on)?