Cadillac CTS-V 2004-2007 (Gen I) The Caddy with an Attitude...

Lowering CTS-V with cut stock springs - results and review

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2016, 10:27 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Default Lowering CTS-V with cut stock springs - results and review

This month after owning my V for almost 4 years I decided to lower it. I had been considering it for about 3 years but I had some reservations not to mention that I was fairly happy with how it was.

My previous two cars, VQ powered Nissan sedans I also lowered, with H&R springs and Vogtland springs and aftermarket performance dampeners. The V I decided to lower using the stock springs. My reasons for doing so:

- As a DD in MN, I wanted a relativley mild, streetable drop that would allow for and maintain good alignment and decent ride quality.
- I don't track the car but do specifically go out on exended trips to the best roads in my region to tear up the twisties. I don't need a $5k suspension, but I also was prepared to swap everything out if this turned out lower than my expectations.
- People will argue with me, but I am willing to bet the factory, Sachs dampeners are more solid and of a better quality than the Taiwanese products that come with the $900 coil over setups on the market. What is better to me might not mean better for you.
- With the V's decently sporting spring rate and quality of FE4 dampener, I believed the car can handle an approx. ~1" drop without any of the classic problems that Honda Civic suspension components suffer from when modified.

- What I wanted from the drop, and in equal importance to me, was: better looks and small tire to fender gap and better handling via less body roll and less suspension wallow/float I occasionally feel and slight increased spring rate via spring length reduction. In essence, I am a huge fan of how the factory V handles/rides (after addition of my Hotckiss sway bars) - and I want to keep that balance.