Carbureted LSX Forum Carburetors | Carbed Intakes | Carb Tuning Tips for LSX Enthusiasts

Carb'd LS1 timing issues

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2012, 07:27 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Carb'd LS1 timing issues

Long time lurker, first time posting..

I have an 85' GT mustang with a carbureted LS1 in it. I've been tossing around the idea of selling it, and never really finished putting the car together. After trying to sell the car, and not finding anyone interested in buying a half finished project, I've decided to play with her.

So within the last week, I finished the wiring, and plumbing for the fogger system. The car has been to the track before, but with a very basic tune, and only N/A.

I'm kind of new to the whole LS1, but not to a carburetor. I've heard stories, and read threads online about the LS1 not benefiting from a lot of timing. Being a carb guy; my past builds have all had about 38+ degrees (N/A) of timing. So knowing the fact the LS1 don't like a lot of timing, I've been stalking the carb database sticky and notice most guys not going above 34 degrees.

So, last night, I take the car to the track and attempt to spray it.. I have a total timing set at 32 degrees for N/A. When the nitrous is activated, It pulls 10 degrees. Let's not go into the fact that a fuse pwnd the nitrous from working.. Will save that for another day. Basically, the nitrous didn't come on, and the car was soo lazy due to the 22 degrees of timing, it led me to tonight; where I decided to give the car 40 degrees of timing while driving down the street and inputting from 32 to 40 degrees it felt like we got rear ended by another car. It's mind-blowing how much different 8 degrees made just N/A.