Fitech install goodbye carb. - LS1TECH



Carbureted LSX Forum Carburetors | Carbed Intakes | Carb Tuning Tips for LSX Enthusiasts

Fitech install goodbye carb.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-25-2016, 08:20 PM   #1
Teching In
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Grafton, Ohio
Posts: 36
Default Fitech install goodbye carb.

I just installed a Mean Street throttle body fuel injection unit on my 87 Monte Carlo SS.I had an 08 6.2 with a 850 Quickfuel carb,thunder racing cam,GM open plenum intake,turbo 400,3600 stall,9" with 3:70 gears.Carb just got to be a pain instantly filling garage with fumes and I just got tired smelling of the fumes.I already have GrandNational tank,pump and sending unit.I installed a 255lph pump and ran a return from throttle body to a Y at my corvette regulator.3 wires to hook up and coolant sensor and o2 sensor.Few questions to answer on little dashboard computer and it was running.The best thing I've done to this car to make it a pleasure to drive
mikes87ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 06:12 AM   #2
In-Zane Moderator
iTrader: (25)
 
ZONES89RS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Conroe, Texas
Posts: 11,434
Default

Heard good and bad reviews about them. Any place in particular to see what those systems are actually capable of?
ZONES89RS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 09:50 AM   #3
Teching In
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Grafton, Ohio
Posts: 36
Default Fitech reviews

I looked all over the internet for reviews and drive ability of system before I bought mine.So far I have no complaints.I have decent cam in mine and AFR is about 14.2 -14.5,so it is constantly trying to maintain that AFR.I bought the Mean Street which has 8 injectors and will support up to 800 HP.My car is a weekend cruiser and I love being able to just turn the key and drive it.I can be going 25 mph in 2nd gear and stomp it and obliterate the tires till I let off of it.No bog no hesitation.I saw no other LS in depth installs or reviews on it.For $1167,well worth it.

Last edited by mikes87ss; 09-26-2016 at 09:55 AM. Reason: Add info correct spelling
mikes87ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 10:05 AM   #4
TECH Fanatic
iTrader: (13)
 
AnotherWs6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 1,319
Default

I've been eyeballing these for a time, glad to hear that you are happy with it.
AnotherWs6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 11:46 AM   #5
In-Zane Moderator
iTrader: (25)
 
ZONES89RS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Conroe, Texas
Posts: 11,434
Default

What all comes with the kit? Pics and details?
ZONES89RS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 08:04 PM   #6
Teching In
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Grafton, Ohio
Posts: 36
Default

The kit comes with carb base gaskets,wiring harness,o2 sensor,and some type of getup to rig an o2 sensor hole if you don't have o2 bungs in your headers.I had to purchase some push lock fittings from Summit for fuel fittings and a 30 micron filter.It also came with a suction cup clamp flexible arm to hold the digital display,and the display.You have to tap into tach signal,key on,and battery positive.The water temp harness uses the LS style plug.I happened to have a LS water temp sensor laying around that I threaded in pass.side rear water outlet.Look around at the prices of these other throttle body fuel injection setups.Dollar for dollar this can't be beat.The display asks a few ?'s.What size cubic inch of motor,cam size 1-4.1 being stock 4 radical drag strip cam.I chose 3.What RPM do you want your at idle at when its warmed up.I chose 800 rpm.I turned the key on,fuel pump kicks on and I can hear injectors click.Fired right up and it took some driving to let it learn some parameters.Its constantly learning.
mikes87ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 09:40 PM   #7
TECH Junkie
iTrader: (33)
 
LS1-450's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,780
Default

FiTech is just OK. We found that a lot of carb guys are enamored by the "new toy" aspect of the FI & don't reveal all of the FiTech quirks.

-The drawiings have a few un-corrected mistakes
-Wire color changes from one side of a wire connector to the next
-starting issues
-runs pig rich @ tip in @ early WOT
-runs down battery if connected to programming screen
-no written manual w/unit. Have to search & download PDF on line
-need internet search to fine tune in order to find out what worked for others. Without trial & error info from the net, would be impossible to dial in
-Define "self tuning"...it is not. It updates, but requires modification to factory settings by the owner.
-etc, etc, etc
LS1-450 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2016, 01:05 AM   #8
In-Zane Moderator
iTrader: (25)
 
ZONES89RS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Conroe, Texas
Posts: 11,434
Default

Honestly, I got a harness and ECM from a 5.3 I purchased. I am sure I could get ahead with that. 90 MM intake and TB are cheap. Stock truck injectors will flow 70 lbs per hour uncapped or get the 100$ 54 pounders. That's just me talking off the top of my head. At 1k I'll spend more for the dominator setup.
ZONES89RS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2016, 05:58 AM   #9
Teching In
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Grafton, Ohio
Posts: 36
Default

I put this unit on and have had no issues with it.My car is a weekend toy.For $1100 and to be able to turn key and drive my car,it's worth it to me.For 80% of the people who are doing these swaps it would fit the bill.
mikes87ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2016, 08:07 AM   #10
TECH Fanatic
iTrader: (13)
 
AnotherWs6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 1,319
Default

And it's not just for swaps. FItech makes sense for guys like me running old school carb motors. I am aware that there have been some issues. But $1,000 is not a ton of money for a fuel injection system, and that's why it is appealing. For guys who have no interest in complicated systems it makes some sense. It does what we try to do with our carbs - hit and keep a good AFR ratio.
AnotherWs6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2017, 09:31 PM   #11
Teching In
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 16
Default

OK, I'm setting up a LC9 5.3 in a mid engine Corvair. Converted from a DOD/AFM, running a Comp "***** Thumper" cam (.563"/.546"), LS7 lifters, Comp "Gold" roller rockers, Edelbrock Victor, Jr. single plane intake with a QFT750dp. I just switched from an MSD LS2 #6012 controller to the MSD 6014. I'm seriously looking at a FItech setup for better drivability. Oh, also running a Zex plate system with 150 jets. 2 questions........I asked FItech about running their unit alongside of an MSD unit-generic answer was,"yeah you can run them together"??
Has anyone on here added the FI while using MSD for your timing and spark triggering ?
Also there units are based on HP, is that base (mine is around 450, untested) or power added ? If it's power added (nitrous), I'll have to step up to the 800hp unit. Appreciate the help.
pbeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 04:01 PM   #12
6D9
TECH Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 377
Default

The swap got rid of the fuel smell in the garage? That smell normally comes from the braided AN line or vented gas caps.
6D9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 07:15 PM   #13
11 Second Club
 
Doug G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Harford Co. Maryland
Posts: 3,301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6D9 View Post
The swap got rid of the fuel smell in the garage? That smell normally comes from the braided AN line or vented gas caps.
I have both, and with adding the AFR gauge, some tuning, a few beers...14's at idle all is well in the world. TUNE YOUR CARB

Take a FI motor, add a carb intake, to go FI ??? to each their own.
Doug G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2017, 04:27 PM   #14
Teching In
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Grafton, Ohio
Posts: 36
Default

To answer question about MSD running spark and Fitech running fuel.That is the way I have mine set up.I believe there is a way to run the spark control somehow on a LS motor.I have the 800hp Mean Street setup.
mikes87ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2017, 08:22 PM   #15
Teching In
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 16
Default

So, Mike, do the MSD and the FItech connect ? I know I didn't get much of an answer from Fi.
pbeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2017, 11:53 PM   #16
6D9
TECH Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 377
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug G View Post
I have both, and with adding the AFR gauge, some tuning, a few beers...14's at idle all is well in the world. TUNE YOUR CARB

Take a FI motor, add a carb intake, to go FI ??? to each their own.
I have the same stuff Doug....wideband...14.5 ish a/f ratio at idle. My car still stinks. The camshaft has lots of overlap and that does not help. Do a search on braided line fumes. No need for the rollie eyes and telling me to tune my carb. We have both been around Team Chevelle(Dirtlips 408) and Team Camaro(6D9) for years. I can tune a carb just fine...
6D9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2017, 04:35 AM   #17
11 Second Club
 
Doug G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Harford Co. Maryland
Posts: 3,301
Default

Yes....but these cars do not have cats and a lot of people don't remember back when cars didn't have cats, so the exhaust "smells" different (more of raw fuel).
Roll eyes wasn't about tuning, but to the FI to carb to FI.

Tuning my carb with the AFR gauge got me a cleaner running car, but haven't seen anything in ET/MPH....guess my WOT was fine.
Doug G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2017, 04:31 PM   #18
Teching In
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Grafton, Ohio
Posts: 36
Default

On my Ls motor they are separate.MSD runs the ignition which I put a timing table in.The Fitech runs by itself with the perameters you tell the computer pre -startup.
mikes87ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 12:16 PM   #19
Staging Lane
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 97
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikes87ss View Post
On my Ls motor they are separate.MSD runs the ignition which I put a timing table in.The Fitech runs by itself with the perameters you tell the computer pre -startup.
you mind sharing your timing curve? i have the meanstreet as well and i am still using the curve i had when i had the 750 carb. not sure if it will make a difference
kennymox510 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question regarding fuel pump trap door Daywee3d LT1-LT4 Modifications 11 09-02-2016 06:25 PM
P0171 & P0174, searched, running out of ideas 04 LS1 jeffp5 PCM Diagnostics & Tuning 25 04-25-2016 10:56 PM
So sick of smelling like my exhaust fumes. danrun PCM Diagnostics & Tuning 16 04-30-2012 07:02 AM
Gas fumes and rear quarter sealing? Jazz-LT1 Paint & Body Work 3 08-09-2010 11:51 PM
Gas Leak? LT1Drew LT1-LT4 Modifications 2 06-06-2007 10:52 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 PM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send