Chevrolet Camaro 1967-2002 The forum for diehard Camaro fans

1999 Camaro SS LS1 Maintenence Questions

Old 05-03-2010, 06:18 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default 1999 Camaro SS LS1 Maintenence Questions

Hey guys I just picked up a 99 SS and Im needing to know the capacities on all the oils. I dont have the book for the car. Please dont chime in and say use a search cause I did and couldnt find anything. Maybe it was my computer but it just wouldnt allow me to search.

How many quarts does the engine hold with the filter and what filter does it take? Im totally new to the LS1, I dont know if its the same as a traditional 5.7.

What weight of oil for the tranny its a 6 speed and how many quarts?
Old 05-03-2010, 08:24 PM
TECH Regular

Received 100 Likes on 73 Posts

I don't know about the tranny fluid but your LS1 takes 5.5 quarts of oil.
Old 05-03-2010, 10:18 PM
Staging Lane

What filter?
Old 05-03-2010, 11:49 PM
Launching!

Mobil 1 M1-107, M1-206 for the filter.. I highly recommend using Mobil 1 Full synthetic to, otherwise Royal Purple, as that's what I'm gonna be using when i do my oil change here in a couple weeks! 5.5qts.

Vince
Old 05-04-2010, 12:31 AM
TECH Apprentice

First result yielded from Google search for "1999 Chevrolet Camaro manual" :

http://f-bodyhideout.com/techman/1999camaro.pdf

Oil: As others have said, 5.5 quarts of oil. Synthetic or conventional is your own choice.

Oil Filter: If you're changing the oil yourself, I would imagine you're picking up the supplies at Walmart, as it would be cost effective to do so. When you walk into the aisle containing said oil filters, there will be a book to peruse through; within, you can look up your vehicle model, and find the corresponding filter.
Old 05-04-2010, 04:27 AM
TECH Veteran

Received 1 Like on 1 Post