Chevrolet Camaro 1967-2002 The forum for diehard Camaro fans

5.3 turbo build questions. lots of them

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2015, 07:40 PM
Launching!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 5.3 turbo build questions. lots of them

whats up guys, i am also new to the forum but i purhcased a MY99 z28, it was a heads, cam factory ls1 with a 145k on it. Built 4l60e. shortly after i bought the car, within 20 miles it lost all oil pressure and toasted the bottom end. Just my luck.

Now i am new to the 5.3 world and im looking for about 650whp-700whp. I have had turbo cars before but never a turbo V8 but i like projects. I DO WANT TO RETAIN AC. lol thats a must. I am picking up a junkyard 5.3 tomorrow and my main question, what should i do to this motor to "help" it last. like head studs etc. I do plan on putting a cam in the motor at least, with supporting parts. I do want to use the stock heads, and already have a fast 102.

The car has a 102 NW tb on it and the driveability isnt the best, would it hurt to go back to a stock one for boost or switch to a 92?

Should i purchase a BMR front k member for more room up front? plan on doing a 76mm turbo up front.

My end goal is to have a nice driveable car with very good street maners that is a blast when in the throttle.

Any help pointing me in the right dircetion would be fantastic.

Thanks in advance!
Old 05-01-2015, 06:22 PM
Launching!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

no body?
Old 10-23-2015, 01:33 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by Hypforlife32
no body?
I would recommend arp 2000 rod bolts and arp head studs for that kind of power the bmr k member is going to save you a lot of weight and make it easier for installation while keeping the a/c and why not if you have the funds and your already there it's a great investment you should be just fine with the 102mm throttle body as long as you have a good tune
Old 10-23-2015, 10:15 AM
LS1Tech Premium Sponsor

Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts