Chevrolet Camaro 1967-2002 The forum for diehard Camaro fans

Just bought an LT1, and I feel like an idiot.

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2018, 02:26 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Just bought an LT1, and I feel like an idiot.

So I've been working in the automotive industry for nearly 10 years now, and yet I still made a fatal school boy error.

I bought a 1995 Camaro Z28 yesterday. It has the six speed and only 113K on the odometer. Polo green with tan leather interior, no tears in the seats and absolutely no cracks in the dash or any of the other plastics prone to breaking.

The test drive went great, transmission rowed through the gears better than any Mustang I've ever owned. No fuss from the engine, no ticks, knocks, misfires, etc. On top of that, A/C blew cold and the dark tint job kept me cool in the rush hour traffic on the way home.

For the small price of $3,000, I thought I had gotten the steal of a lifetime. Right up until I looked in the rear view mirror and saw a wonderful cloud of blue smoke after letting off the gas.

I can't even be mad at the guy that sold it to me, it's my fault for not noticing something so painfully obvious. But oh well, I'm stuck with it and now it's time to start fixing things.

I found repair records in the glove box. Clutch and flywheel were replaced a year ago, battery is 6 months old yada yada yada. But the things the shop noticed, yet the previous owner declined to fix makes a nice checklist for things to do.

I knew it needed tires, but according to said repair shop it looks like ball joints and tie rods are also on the list.

According to the paperwork, valve stem seals are the culprit to the blue cloud of death. I suppose I could just keep adding oil, but there's two more years of smog testing on 95 models. Luckily it's legal until September, so I have time to fix it.

I suppose the suspension and tire bits are more important safety matters, so I plan to tackle them first.