Chevrolet Camaro 1967-2002 The forum for diehard Camaro fans

Just another 4th Gen truck motor swap.

Old 04-21-2019, 11:56 PM
Teching In

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Just another 4th Gen truck motor swap.

Howdy y’all, I might as well start a build thread for my new to me 99 camaro. I am new to fourth gens, and actually cars in general as I’ve only ever had GM trucks and a Jeep in the past. I look forward to learning about these cars.

This is currently a v6 car, but I bought a v8 k member, and I’m going to get a 5.3 from a Tahoe that a buddy is parting out before he scraps it. I’ll update this as progress is made on the car, but the first stage will be fairly budget oriented, so progress will be slow.

A buddy of mine has an AMX that he will be dropping a 5.3 in as well so we will have a fairly friendly rivalry. We plan to drag race and do street car thing with the cars. They will both get turbo charged after a year or two of being N/A.

Enough talking and time for some pictures.

Old 04-22-2019, 08:01 PM
Launching!

Received 104 Likes on 70 Posts

Hell yeah. Get another Camaro back on the road. How many miles are on the engine? Are you putting the transmission and engine from the truck in? If so, get a little converter and cam work done while it is easy. Headers and exhaust will help. It will reap big rewards for the AMX challenge. Look in the Marketplace. Lots of parts in there. Good luck and work some long hours to make it happen.
Old 04-22-2019, 11:23 PM
Teching In

I was under the impression that the V6 auto would work with the LS truck motors. The whole first phase of both cars is extreme budget builds. That is why I got a factory LS1 k member instead of a fancy piece like TRZ. Being in Canada cross boarder shipping and exchange rate are brutal on us. If I find local deals I’ll go for them. I only paid $750 CDN for the car. There are deals around, you just have to be patient enough to wait for them.
Old 05-06-2019, 07:45 AM
Teching In