Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

00' Firebird V6 to V8 LS1 Swap

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-2010, 11:18 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 00' Firebird V6 to V8 LS1 Swap

Going to start my LS1 swap. I just drove all the way to Arkansas from Ohio and back to pick it up I will definitely never do that again. But I picked up a 1999 Corvette LS1. The car that it will be going into will be a 2000 Firebird, that I have done pretty much every TA styling to that is possible with the exception of a Ram Air Hood. This is my first time doing anything really with an engine so by all means tell me if something seems out of way or wrong at all. I will be doing a complete write-up explaining what I did to get it up and running. Bare with me while I acquire all the parts. But once I have them all it is on!

Here are the list on Parts needed for the swap.
  1. LS1 Engine 28,000 miles ($2500)
  2. LS1 T56 Transmission 32,000 miles ($1400)
  3. Monster Stage 2 Clutch w/ Aluminum Flywheel ($650), could still use original LS1 clutch and flywheel
  4. LS1 K-Member ($50)
  5. Longtube LS1 Headers ($250), sold Corvette headers for $150
  6. DIY True Duals , could use stock exhaust
  7. Trans Am Engine Wiring Harness ($130)
  8. LS1 Ported Throttle Body ($35), sold Corvette TB for $50
  9. LS1 PCM (Need), sold Corvette PCM and harness for $400
  10. LS1 Steering Rack ($50)
  11. Manual Pedals and Throttle Cable ($50)

So far with everything I have bought and Everything I have sold off the Corvette motor I have $4,704.94 in it.
However if I didn't upgrade anything you could have it in the car for $3,784.94 if you want to reuse some parts (clutch, headers). It still is a big problem selling the corvette accessories for F-Body accessories though, so I would try to stay a way from that.

Below are just some of the sites i used for research but they are the best:
https://ls1tech.com/forums/conversio...ap-w-pics.html
http://www.dxsoftware.com/magnus/