Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LSx to SN-95 advise needed

Old 08-26-2010, 08:23 AM
TECH Regular

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Default LSx to SN-95 advise needed

First off, let me say that I am sure glad I found this board, tons of great info here. I’m considering a LSx swap into a SN95 mustang. I have zero background with either, never owned a mustang of any vintage and have only performed routine maintenance on my 2000 Chevy truck with the 5.3. I’m really starting from scratch here (my background is with LC2's).

Goal:
Fast & fun street car that can be used as a daily driver. Stock appearing interior with a/c, heat, and the standard power accessories. This car needs to have good street manners so my wife can hop in, turn the key and drive off (woman driver who doesn’t know what any of the gauges do).

Initial questions:
1)Are there any significant differences between the v-6 & v-8 SN95’s that should be considered when shopping for a donor vehicle? Obviously the 6 bangers can be picked up cheap, cheap, cheap but do they have weak suspensions, rear ends, fuel systems….. compared to the v-8 cars?

2)K-members. Sounds like there are a couple of aftermarket tubular k-members that have good write-ups but is it necessary to swap out the stocker given the number of oil pan choices now available?

3) Are there any notorious issues with the SN-95’s that should be observed when looking at a potential donor car?
Old 08-26-2010, 08:43 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm starting a swap on my 1997 Cobra. I'm basically in the same boat and still in the learning/research phase.

For the K member I would suggest the AJE. Your other option is to use any of the 4.6L Kmembers and just modify the motor mounts.