Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Mark VIII fan not coming on

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2010, 08:24 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Mark VIII fan not coming on

Just about ready to drive, getting really close...

For some reason my electric fan isn't coming on when I wire in a fan switch. If I wire one wire from the fan directly to the battery's negative terminal, and the other wire from the fan directly to the battery's positive terminal, the fan turns on.

When I wire the fan switch, fan doesn't do anything. I know I need to use a relay. I'm stripping everything out to see if I have a faulty fan switch.

Here's how I've wired it:

I put a lighter underneath but away from the probe. The fan should come on under something that hot, correct??

I'm using a Derale switch, a probe style, part number 16738:

I've never done this before so I don't know if I'm missing something. To me it sounds like I have a faulty switch.

Anyone have any advice/suggestions on what I should do next? Thanks again guys
Old 11-07-2010, 08:44 PM
TECH Resident

maybe you're not getting it hot enough. remember the probe itself needs to get 180+ to trigger. I'd suggest getting the flame closer or a hotter substance like boiled water in a glass
Old 11-08-2010, 12:13 AM
TECH Resident

Originally Posted by Rick Speed
maybe you're not getting it hot enough. remember the probe itself needs to get 180+ to trigger. I'd suggest getting the flame closer or a hotter substance like boiled water in a glass
Cool, thanks. I did what you suggested - put the flame right up against the probe, and dipped the probe in boiling water. Fan didn't do ANYTHING. Connections are good, ground is good.

I'm thinkin about getting another probe to find out if that's what it is.
Old 11-08-2010, 08:50 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post