Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Picked up an LQ4 today - have some basic questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2011, 12:01 AM
11 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Picked up an LQ4 today - have some basic questions

I'm brand new to the LS scene so what i'm looking for is just a basic diagram or schematic that points out what each sensor is on the engine plus other items. Evap pump? EGR setup? etc.... trying to figure out what I need and don't need when I put this in my mustang.

No power steering or a/c - alternator, water pump and crank so what is the preferred belt routing for that?

I'm actively using "search" but sometimes you get answers a bit quicker by posting so that being said, i'll answer my own questions if I run across them before someone points me in the right directions.

Thanks all!
Old 10-07-2011, 12:12 AM
Launching!

lt1swap.com for the schematics
Old 10-07-2011, 12:29 AM
11 Second Club

Thanks I have that one saved. I'm looking for something more along the lines of all the sensors on the engine, I have no idea what each of them are. For example there's a sensor in the head and I have an idea that it's the coolant temp. Trying to remember my LT1 Z from 6 years ago is a little tough but I think that's the same thing on this LQ4.

Does this have a crank trigger? I bought it as a 2002 but i'm starting to think it's a 2001, has 317 heads but I was trying to match up the intake just to double check. Block ID is pretty vague and i'm not really sure how to tell one year from another. Just the little things i'm trying to start with, I need to know what each of these sensors and other items are on the engine so I can determine what I need and don't need.

Thanks again!
Old 10-07-2011, 12:30 AM
11 Second Club

Found the belt routing I was looking for

Thanks to this thread: https://ls1tech.com/forums/conversio...cessories.html
Old 10-07-2011, 01:12 AM
11 Second Club

Received 63 Likes on 54 Posts

Crank Sensor: behind the Starter