Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

5.3L into chevelle???

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2012, 02:43 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default 5.3L into chevelle???

Hi guys, I am fairly new to LS1tech and to these LSX style engines. I am wanting to put one in my 69 chevelle. I have a LM7 5.3L for it (I really want a 6.0L) but I am wondering what kind of oil pan to use? Do I need to change the intake to clearance under the hood or not? If I can use the truck accesories or not? What exhaust do I use? I am not trying to build a hot rod, just something that I can drive everyday with reliablity, performance and economy. I am sure someone on here has put one in a chevelle before any help or advice would be appreciated. Thanks.
Old 04-17-2012, 03:36 PM
On The Tree

I just put one in an 80 camino and reading the forums quite a bit here is what ive found. You can fit the truck intake under your hood . Quite a few factors to that though . Which adapter/motor mounts you use. All the reading and in my experience the 1" setback plates put the engine in a nice place regarding the frame/steering box with truck accessories.Ran into issues with the truck ps pump with the stock location mounts(Hits the steering box). Exhaust ,The passenger truck will probably clear good, the driver will most likely dump onto the frame.You can modify the truck manifold by cutting it and changing the angle and welding it up or find a set of f-body exhaust manifolds . And if your arent on a tight budget there are a few sets of headers the will fit nicely that ive seen . Oil Pans are a pain in the ****.