Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Someone educate me on fuel fittings

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2012, 09:25 PM
TECH Resident

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Someone educate me on fuel fittings

Ok, I am running a stock 5.3. My engine has the regulator/return at the rail, so I don't need the Vette filter/regulator.

I have 20 feet of new 3/8 stainless steel lines, and a 6 ft section of 6AN 1500psi braided, and another 3 ft section of 6AN 1500psi braided. I have NO fittings, as I am a total novice to building a fuel system and don't know what to buy.

I will start from the rear of the vehicle

-Fuel sump (2 fittings there for in/out. Not sure if I should set it up for hard lines there or braided)

-Inlet filter

-Walbro pump (this came with the two little fittings that screw into it for 6AN fittings to screw to)

-Outlet filter

-3/8 quick connect adapter at the rail

-5/16 return line at the rail

What makes sense to me (and I am probably wrong) is running braided line from the sump to the first filter, braided to the inline pump, braided to the second filter, then a fitting to go from braided to hard line to go most of the length of the car, then another fitting to switch back to braided to go from frame to fuel rail. I know I will need the quick connect adapters for both lines at the fuel rail.

QUESTIONS...
1. Does the above make sense, or am I all wrong?
2. Do I need larger than 3/8 line to run the return line back to the tank?
3. If I cannot use the 3/8 hard line for the return, can I use the cheap stuff.....or will it need to be high pressure?

If anyone has a diagram showing the fittings required to make this happen that would be great.

Thanks a lot
Old 04-17-2012, 07:45 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts