Sponsored by:

Reading recommendations

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2012, 12:18 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Reading recommendations

Hi all,

I have been wanting to do a V8 swap for years now and it looks like I will finally have the garage space/cash/time necessary to do so in a few months.

This is beyond ambitious for me. I have very little experience or knowledge with working on cars and I have no tools. However, I do have 1) patience, 2) time, 3) money, 4) the internet, and 5) some nice friends that know more than me.

I want to get a basic level of understanding in the next few months while I shop around for a roller. There is lots of great info here and elsewhere on the internet, but I feel I would get a lot more out of it if I had a better basic understanding of what everything does, what I need, etc. Sometimes I feel like most of the stuff I read here goes over my head.

Are there any auto mechanic type/hotrod types of books or other resources you guys would recommend that would help lay the groundwork for someone who has no experience in working on cars?

Thanks for any help! Sorry if this is a dumb post/repost/etc. I didn't come up with much via forum search.
Old 04-18-2012, 01:09 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Thumbs up

Well, first of all, WELCOME ABOARD!!! Gotta say, I admire your willingness to just dive in to a project like this! I'll tell you up front, that working on cars can be really frustrating/aggravating, but it's also really rewarding when you fix a problem & think "HA! Didn't have to pay someone else to take care of that!"

I don't know of a lot of sites that show the basics (since I've been doing this for a little while), but the one that I've sent others to is HowStuffWorks. Poke around there, & you should be able to pick up at least a little bit.

Hope this helps!
Old 04-18-2012, 01:32 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts