Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

95 k2500 nv4500 6.0 swap

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2013, 07:40 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 95 k2500 nv4500 6.0 swap

I have a 95 k2500 5.7l tbi nv4500 stock. This truck will be an eveyday driver and a worker. I want to swap out the 5.7 for the 6.0l. Im fairly new to the ls motors bud decided to go with the 6.0l with the intentions of leaving it stock or few mods cam ect...

What would be the best year vehicle to look for?

Any other opinions on motor choice? (maby the 6.2L?

The nv4500 changed after 95 (not exactly sure what all changed but there was)what problems would i encounter when using my tranny?(i heard possibly pilot bearing issue?, may need to convert to internal slave?) i heard the 6.0l came with the nv4500 as an option. would I be better off with that tranny than mine.

The truck is an obd1 what would i have to do for computer? can the motor run on a stand alone harness and keep old computer in place?

Id appreciate any information on what I might encounter durring the swap. I want to get started gathering parts and getting a good list of most capatible combonations.
Old 02-05-2013, 05:58 AM
LS1Tech Sponsor

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts

Rasch,

You can go with any of the engines available. If cost is your primary driver you may find that the 99-06 Vortec 5.3 and 6.0 engines are the best bargain. If you get an 03 - 06 engine keep in mind that they are DBW (Drive by Wire) and if you are going to stick with that throttle you need the TAC (Throttle Actuator Control) module and pedal from the vehicle. If you go with an early vortec motor they will be DBC (Drive by Cable). You can also convert a later engine by bolting on a throttle body. Regarding harness, running the engine standalone would be the easiest way to complete the swap.

Jon
PSI

Your Source for LSX Conversion Parts!
www.psiconversion.com

Ebay Store
Facebook/psiconversion
Instagram/psiconversion