Sponsored by:

Wiring help!!! pcm power turns off when in start

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2013, 01:27 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wiring help!!! pcm power turns off when in start

OK guys/gals here is a good one for you:

This is my first time trying to start my 67 Firebird LS1 conversion. When I am in the "run" key position everything is fine but when I go to the "start' position the PCM looses power!!! As soon as I let go of the key it tries to start. It doesn't keep running i guess because of this strange scenario. The Battery is in the trunk, then goes to a distribution block under the hood which feeds both the PCM and the rest of the car (excluding the separate feed to the Starter). I could really use some help here.
Old 07-13-2013, 01:37 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 194 Likes on 140 Posts

You're not powering up your ignition relay with the right wire. Most accessories will loose power in crank, so you need to hook to one that doesn't, like the wire that originally went to your ignition coil.
Old 07-14-2013, 08:28 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Same thing with my Maverick. Cars back then with points had a straight 12v supply to the coil for cranking but went thru a ballast resistor for run. You need to make a jumper so your PCM sees 12 volts in both crank and run.
Old 07-16-2013, 11:58 AM
Staging Lane

Default a bit confused

Mavrick,

im not sure what to jumper. the pcm is getting its power directly from the battery. the switched power I would have to check.
Old 07-16-2013, 12:18 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

This is a common problem that many run into.

Take a Volt meter (or a test light) and find one of the Pink wire that is hot on Run and Start. Flip the key from Run to Start and back to Run. If the voltage doesn't drop, you can use that one. If you see it drop.. try another one.