Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Jeep Jk Rubicon Lq4 swap

Old 12-25-2013, 08:02 PM
On The Tree

Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Jeep Jk Rubicon Lq4 swap

Hi , this is my first time posting on the forum , although I have been a lurker for quite some time . I am swapping a lq4 and 4l80e into my Jeep JK figure I'd post it on here and that way I can ask any question or concerns that I have . Bought the jeep last year put a 4" lift , 35" tires and bumpers. Needless to say after that its was a turd to drive around with the underpowered 3.8 v6 and got tired of it . I also have a 2000 camaro z28 m6 the previous owner had it tuned and worked on by lingenfelter . Its got the 475hp package , I just put a more aggressive cam in it and picked up about +20 at the wheels , so its got about 415 at the wheels.
So being familiar with LS platform , their ability to make horsepower cheap and I also have a Efi live tuner made it an easy decision for me to go the LS route rather than the Hemi . After researching I came across the kit sold by Motech for gen IV and 6l80e which starts at $5100+, which is not compatible with the stock rubicon NP241OR transfer case and was out of my budget , that went out of the window quick . So I just bought a used Lq4 and 4l80e complete with accessories, ECU and wiring harness out a 2003 2500 silverado HD with 150,xxx miles . Novak also offers engine mounts for ls swap into a JK and tranfer case adapter for the 4l80e to NP241OR as well . Just have to fabricate a cross member mount for the transmission.