Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Default New guy here, need help

Old 07-17-2014, 12:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Default New guy here, need help

Alright so to start off I have some working experience with cars like changing fuel filters, changing spark plugs and small maintenance stuff like that but on a Ford. I've tried to read up and watch videos but that can only help so much, I still have questions. So the problem is I want to buy a good condition third generation Camaro and swap an LS1+T56 transmission into there but I don't really know where to start. What do I do once I get my car and engine+transmission, do I begin to disassemble all the wiring, cooling, exhaust from the engine and then take it out and put the new engine in and connect it all back together? How about conversion kits, don't I need those? What kind of tools do I need for this job?
Old 07-18-2014, 08:33 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

Welcome aboard. The best way to begin is to search the site for appropriate build threads. Pay close attention to the combinations of parts used in successful projects. Often times mix and match just don't work out well. Most of us have not used any sort of actual "kit", rather a proven selection of parts. Each application will be different based on skill level, budget and the actual engine/trans you elect to use. I suggest that you video the car prior to taking it apart, and detail any sub-disassembly for future reference even though it will not go back the way it started. Pay close attention to methods used by others and follow their map. You may be able to use a great deal of the original chassis and dash wiring integrated with the LS electrics. The tool question is pretty open ended. The short answer is a good set of hand tools will be required. Specialty tools will be dictated by the depth of the overall job you feel confident tackling on your own.